HISTORY was made on Friday night when for the first time in 50 years the Dowling Medal was shared by Craig Malone and Clay Cameron.

The Bomber faithful stood as one to applaud when the final votes were read out with Malone and Cameron deadlocked on 105 votes.

It had been a gripping count with Malone powering away in the first third of the season before Cameron pegged back his lead through Rounds 9-16.

Malone (62) led the field from Adrian Williams (38), Mitch Stallard (33), Cameron (23) and Matt Hammelmann (22) after seven games had been counted.

Cameron (83) made his run with 60 votes in the next phase and had narrowed Malone’s (85) lead to just two votes with four rounds to go. While it had clearly come down to a race in two Williams (62), Hammelmann (61) and skipper Hayden Bertoli-Simmonds (56) were all fighting for their place on the podium.

A 14 vote game by Cameron in the Round 17 clash against NT Thunder in Alice Springs saw him take the lead for the time in the night only to be trumped by Malone’s 15 vote effort in the Round 18 loss to Aspley with both players polling minor votes in the alternate games. Malone 102 leads Cameron 98.

Cameron narrowed that gap to one vote when he polled 3 votes in the Round 20 game against Sydney Uni with Malone failing to poll.

Votes were spread between eight players in the final round win over Canberra Demons with Damian Steven (14) and Hammelmann (12) at the pointy end but the room erupted when Malone polled 3 and then Cameron 4 to signal the result 105 votes each of two.

Bertoli-Simmond’s late season form saw him snatch third place on 82 with Hammelmann 79 and Williams 74 rounding out the top five.

To further highlight the closeness of Malone and Cameron’s season the final Champion Data Rating Points had Malone averaging 102.6 per game and Cameron 102.2

For the winners it’s a tremendous tale of perseverance and resilience through injury and illness. It’s also a wonderful result for the local clubs with both lads Malone (Alexandra Hills Bombers and Mt Gravatt Vultures ) and Cameron (Calamvale Leopards and Mt Gravatt Vultures) having graduated through the local system and talented player pathway.

A full list of Final Voting is attached on the pdf file.

Other Awards presented on the night included:

Club Person of the Year (Volunteer) – Dean Sandham (Club Chaplain)

Most Consistent – Adrian Williams

Leading Goal Kicker – Matt Hammelmann

Most Professional – Hayden Bertoli-Simmonds

Player Player – Scott Miller

Thomas/Oxley Rising Star – Caleb Franks

Bombers Brotherhood – Mitchell Stallard

Best Clubman (Player) – Boyd Bailey

Coaches Pet/Trophy – Jarrod Huddy

Retiring players Tom Salter and Phil Carse were recognised for a combined total of 20 years playing service, 331 games, 4 Dowling Medals, a Grogan Medal and 10 years combined as captains of the club.

Milestone players Adrian Williams and Damian Steven (100 RFC games), Phil Carse (150 RFC games), and Matt Thomson (200 RFC games) were also honoured.

Full Vote Count – Final Voting 2019

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!