By Cameron Smith

Scott Miller has closed the gap between him and Jack Rolls to just one-point in the quest for the prestigious Cody Fullarton Cup after being named best-player in Victoria Point Sharks six-point loss to Burleigh.

Harry Hunkin and Damian Steven played well, and Adrian Williams kicked 3 to continue his reign at the top of the Deion Menzies Medal.

The Victoria Point Sharks are now in second place, with KJ and Huddy’s Kenmore in sixth.

KJ was good on the weekend for the Bears kicking 2 goals in their 143-point win over Coomera on the Gold Coast.

Luke O’Sullivan sits alongside Scott Miller in second place in the Cody Fullarton Cup, after another consistent performance for the Vultures.

Morningside were given a bit of a scare against Surfers Paradise, but they were able to see it out with Matt Payne (3-time NEAFL MVP) kicking the match winner with less than a minute left.

Hammer kicked three and Reuben William was amongst the best for Morningside.

Perry Lewis-Smith played his first game for Surfers this year and looked dangerous in the middle.

Broadbeach again showed their premiership credentials defeating Sherwood by 37-points, away from home.

Broadbeach’s Jordan Moncrieff was sensational kicking seven goals, and now leads the QAFL’s goal kicking with 17 goals ahead of Liam Dawson (14) and Hammer (13).

Dan Edwards played his first game back for Sherwood since injuring his hamstring in Round 1 and Caleb Franks worked hard around the stoppages.

Jai Larkins played well for Maroochydore, despite his side getting comprehensively beaten by 61-points against Palm Beach.

In QFA Division 1, the Noosa boys got the bragging rights over Jack Wratten as the Tigers defeated Coorparoo by 47-points at home.

Seb (3), Wil and Mav (1) were amongst the goals for Noosa, while Wratts kicked one for Coorparoo. Wil left the field with an injured shoulder which we hope is on the mend.

Big Jimmy Ivers kicked three for Mayne in their 38-point win over Springwood to secure second on the ladder, 4-points behind Noosa, whilst Coorparoo are 6th.

Alex Hills minus Post Malone lost to Moreton Bay by 24-points while Peter Yagmoor enjoyed a run in the midfield in Cairns City Lions loss to the Saints by 37-points.

The Redland bragging rights up for grabs this week are both in the QAFL with Morningside taking on Maroochydore, and Broadbeach taking on Surfers Paradise.

Round 4

Cody Fullarton Cup (most votes in Best)

16 Votes: Jack Rolls (Morningside)

15 Votes: Luke O’Sullivan (Mt Gravatt), Scott Miller (Sharks)

10 Votes: Adrian Williams (Sharks), Kailem Baker (Bears)

9 Votes: Matt Hammelmann (Morningside), Craig Malone (Alex Hills)

6 Votes: Jamie Ivers (Mayne), Peter Yagmoor (CC Lions), Harrison Hunkin (Sharks) Jai Larkins (Maroochydore)


Deion Menzies Medal (most goals)

19 Goals: Adrian Williams (Sharks)

13 Goals: Matt Hammelmann (Morningside)

11 Goals: Harrison Kerr (Sharks)

6 Goals: Maverick Pettigrove (Noosa), Jamie Ivers (Mayne)

5 Goals: Jack Rolls (Morningside), Aaron Christensen (Sharks), Sebastian Rogers (Noosa)

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!